From Our Groups

Long Serving Leader Anna Gets Due Recognition

It was applause and cheers all round as long serving Cub Scout Leader Anna Hickey was presented with Scouting Ireland’s Highest honour “The Order of Cú Chulainn”. The honour was bestowed on Anna at the Annual General Meeting of Malahide Sea Scouts by the Chief Scout Christy McCann.  The Chief Scout remarked on the length of time that he has known Anna and the extent of her commitment and dedication to young people in Scouting firstly in Whitehall and then in recent times in Malahide totalling some forty years of Service to the Scout movement.

Reading from her citation Provincial Commissioner James O’Toole said “To all, Anna is the very essence of what Scouting is about; always there, prepared to help, supportive of young people, helpful, courteous, respectful and loyal with an approach and attitude that makes her a natural leader of people”

Ais 1 DSC_6275It was an evening of awards and presentations for what is the largest Scout Group in the Country. The Annual General Meeting which took place this year in St Sylvester’s GAA club (by kind permission) while the Scout den is undergoing major refurbishment.

Addressing the assembled Leaders and Parents, Group Leader Colin Lynch reported on progress on the Scout den refurbishment which is now at the halfway stage and thanked the many local organisations who have supported the Group while it goes through this transformation, including Malahide Sailing Club, St Sylvester’s Parish, Malahide and Portmarnock Community Schools, Portmarnock Scout Group and St Sylvester’s GAA Club.

DSC_6299_eAfter various sectional reports given by youth members  themselves, another significant award on the night was a Chief Scouts Award and Bronze Gaisce award to Sea Scout Aisling Lynch. Again reading from her citation Sea Scout Leader Stephanie McCann outlined the challenges and Commitments that Aisling undertook to achieve the award including an Expedition, Leading a Camp and various Community service projects. Also a Bronze Merit Award was presented to Group Boatmaster Colum McCaffrey.

Leave a Comment