Featured From Our Groups

Historic Investiture for Togher Scouts at Museum

From comms

For all those in the Scouting World, the investiture ceremony of a young person is quite a moving experience and one that they will never forget.  I am sure if you approached any person who has been on the scouting trail and ask them when and where they made their Scout Promise.  They would normally be able to tell you in an instant and will More than likely go on to relate  memories of the occasion.

ST. PATRICK’S SCOUTS – The 3rd Cork Troop (St. Patrick’s) photographed after their Investiturev Ceremony at the Walter McGrath Scout Museum in Togher. Leaders seated centre from left, Kevin Moynihan, Darragh O’Brien, Sam Drugan, John Maher, Eamonn Kiely and Finbarr Burns

Last Friday night was a very historic occasion for 11 scouts of the 3rd Cork Troop (St. Patrick’s) when they were invested at the Walter McGrath Scout Museum in Togher.  It was a very special ceremony as it was the first investiture ceremony to be held in the Museum since it was opened in 1998.  The museum was dedicated ten years ago next month to the late Walter McGrath who not only served as Diocesan Commissioner for twenty one years (1951 – 1972) but came up through the ranks of the 3rd Cork Troop (St. Patrick’s) and served as its Scoutmaster for many years.  There was somewhat of poignant touch to the investiture as a large canvas portrait of Walter McGrath, taken by photographer Liam Kennedy in the 1970’s, hangs in the Museum and it looked as if Wally, as he was affectionately known was looking down over the proceedings.

The scouts invested were as follows Adam Geaney, Ryan Geaney, Kieran Bloss, Stefan O’Sullivan, Andrew Quirke, Daniel Morey, Hugh Harley, Tiobas Lonergan, Ivan Vanja, Jake O’Mahony and Jonatho

UNDER WATCHFUL EYE – Scouts from the 3rd Cork Troop (St. Patrick’s) photographed during an investiture ceremony of the troop at the Walter McGrath Scout Museum in Togher under the watchful eye of a portrait of the later Walter McGrath who died in 2006. The scouts are Robert Nash and Alex Kiely.

n Stout.  The Scout of the year was announced as Alex Kiely and the best new Scout was Jonathan Stout.

Scout Leader John Maher in speaking said Scouting was quite different to any other organisation. Scouts make a Promise during the ceremony  whilst holding the Scout or National Flag with the left hand and giving the scout sign with the right hand. He went on to say to the scouts “ You have just made a promise where you promised to do their best. Neither I nor anyone else can expect more from you.  I would ask you to keep that to the fore as you go on life’s journey and try to live by the Scout Law”

About the author


Leave a Comment